Here We Go Magic: ‘Be Small’

here we go magicIt is very important that you begin to get down with Brooklyn’s Here We Go Magic. They’ve been making reliably off-kilter, indie prog/rock/pop music for years and have yet to repeat themselves or take a step backwards. After 2012’s beautifully high fidelity A Different Ship, recorded with Nigel Godrich, the duo went the home recording route on their newest LP, Be Small (out today on Secretly Canadian). The result is a deeply textured, often groovy collection of moving songs (songs that move you, not songs about moving – although, let me check the lyrics again…) that benefit from the variety of sonic palettes and dynamic vibes engendered by the freedom to experiment so central to DIY production. In the right hands, of course. Check out “Ordinary Feeling” and see tour dates below. Stereogum has the full album stream.

Here We Go Magic Tour Dates:
(more info and tix here)

Thu. Oct. 22 Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri. Oct. 23 Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Sat. Oct. 24 New York, NY @Bowery Ballroom
Sun. Oct. 25 Somerville, MA @ Cuisine en Locale
Mon. Oct. 26 Montreal, QC @ Divan Orange
Tue. Oct. 27 Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel
Wed. Oct. 28 Detroit, MI @ UFO Factory
Thu. Oct. 29 Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Fri. Oct. 30 Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Sun. Nov. 1 Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Mon. Nov. 2 Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Tue. Nov. 3 Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Wed. Nov. 4 Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Thu. Nov. 5 Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Fri. Nov. 6 Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern
Sat. Nov. 7 Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club
Sun. Nov. 8 Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Nov. 10 San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Fri. Nov. 13 Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater
Sat. Nov. 14 San Diego, CA @ San Diego Music Thing
Sun. Nov. 15 Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Tue. Nov. 17 Austin, TX @ Red 7
Wed. Nov. 18 Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Thu. Nov. 19 New Orleans, LA @ Siberia
Fri. Nov. 20 Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Sat. Nov. 21 Durham, NC @ The Pinhook