Tears For Fears Cover Animal Collective's "My Girls"

Tears for FearsLately we’ve been seeing a lot of unusual covers and collaborations from bands like The Flaming Lips, Ke$ha, and The Joy Formidable to name a few. Now, with Tears For Fears releasing their cover of Animal Collective‘s “My Girls,” the replication isn’t quite as different as you might imagine (or even hope.) Flooding listeners with sweet synths and haunting vocals, this cover takes everything you loved about the original and adds that extra dose of ’80s vibes to send listeners straight into a blissful trance.

Tears For Fears is also working up on a follow up to 2004’s Everybody Loves a Happy Ending, with plans to release the new album in 2014. Check out the cover below. (more…)

The Joy Formidable, The Flaming Lips Cover Sparklehorse

Sparklehorse Tribute Box of Stars, a nonprofit organization which raises mental health awareness, is currently seeking pledges via IndieGoGo for a tribute album they hope to create for the late Mark Linkous of Sparklehorse, who tragically committed suicide in 2010. Featuring tracks by The Flaming Lips, The Joy Formidable, Portugal. The Man, and more, the campaign hopes to raise $50,000 for the album, and is offering rewards such as t-shirts, CDs, limited edition vinyl, mixing/mastering by Ted Richardson (Portugal. The Man, The Joy Formidable), and more. You can pledge here and listen to tracks by The Flaming Lips and The Joy Formidable below.


New Releases: January 22, 2013

With the return of hipster favorites Ra Ra Riot, Toro y Moi, and The Joy Formidable, this is an especially fertile week for indie rock releases. Also on the menu are new offerings from classic punk stalwarts Bad Religion and OurStage’s own rising star Tyler Bryant.

Tyler Bryant & The Shakedown “ Wild Child

We’ve been fans of Tyler Bryant’s barn-burning blues guitar skills for years, and now, with the release of Wild Child, Bryant and his band are poised to take the national scene by storm. Their new album has enough plaintive slide guitar, ripping solos, boot stomping and gang vocals to last you a lifetime. Or at least until their next release comes out.

By the way, the single “Say A Prayer” is currently iTunes’ Free Single Of The Week.

Ra Ra RiotBeta Love

Ra Ra Riot are back with an album of danceable minimalist synth pop that also manages to incorporate more organic sounds from swelling string arrangements. Strong echoes of David Byrne are still recognizable in frontman Wes Miles‘ voice, but he generally sounds much more self-assured and in reach of a true personal vocal style this time around.


SXSW Add 600 Bands To Line Up

Following last month’s South By Southwest announcement that former Foo Fighters frontman, Dave Grohl would be the festival’s keynote speaker, SXSW has now announced an enormous wave of new bands that will play the 2013 dates in Austin, TX from March 8 through March 17.

The new line up includes Third Eye Blind, The Airborne Toxic Event, Alien Ant Farm, The Dangerous Summer, and The Joy Formidable. Check out the full line up right here.

If you like Foo Fighters, check out OurStage artist Europa.

More Like This:

UTG: 'The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part One' Soundtrack

Here’s an unpopular opinion for you: I love Twilight. Shamelessly. I appreciate its badness the way others ridicule it, and see elements of truth in every character flaw that people deride. Not to imply that I take it seriously or anything, but people are really way too harsh on it considering how useless it is, and ought to lighten up. Further, the movies “ which haven’t always managed to do the story justice “ are gorgeous pieces of fluff that may do nothing for you aesthetically but ought to always endear you aurally. Each film in the franchise has come complete with a terrific artists’ soundtrack, treading a fine line in the hip and stylish and dexterously mixing the more maligned (Paramore, Linkin Park) with the indie elite (The Killers, Muse, Death Cab For Cutie).

The soundtrack to Breaking Dawn, which has been released ahead of the film’s arrival on 18th November, isn’t always as riveting as I’d like it to be. However, there are obvious reasons for this. The storyline to this picture involves Bella and Edward beginning a new life in wedded bliss, only to have their newfound world of careful order fall apart with the discovery that Bella is pregnant with a vampire/human hybrid. For a variety of horribly unpleasant reasons, this isn’t a good thing, and thus the soundtrack must find a way to interweave hope, promise, and loving ardor with hopelessness, desperation, and uncertainty.

Full Track Listing:

1. The Joy Formidable “ Endtapes
2. Angus & Julia Stone “ Love Will Take You
3. Bruno Mars “ It Will Rain
4. Sleeping At Last “ Turning Page
5. The Features “ From Now On
6. Christina Perri “ A Thousand Years
7. Theophilus London “ Neighbors
8. The Belle Brigade “ I Didn’t Mean It
9. Noisettes “ Sister Rosetta (2011 Version)
10. Cider Sky “ Northern Lights
11. Iron & Wine “ Flightless Bird, American Mouth (Wedding Version)
12. Imperial Mammoth “ Requiem On Water
13. Aqualung & Lucy Schwartz “ Cold
14. Mia Maestro “ Llovera
15. Carter Burwell “ Love Death Birth


Thursday, July 7, 2011